• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

At each Piolets d’Or event, the jury rewards expeditions from the previous year.

1st ceremony - Piolets d’Or 1992
The first Piolet d’Or was awarded to the Slovenian duo, Marko Prezelj and Andrej Stremfelj for the fantastic opening up of a 3000m route on the south pillar of Kangchenjunga (Himalaya, 8476 m).

Piolets d’Or 1993
Swiss Michel Piola and his companion from Annecy, Vincent Sprungli were rewarded for opening up an extremely difficult rock route in the Paine massif (Patagonia).

Piolets d’Or 1994

Joint prize for the High Level Youth Team from the Club Alpin Français (average age 20) and the success of their expedition in the Pamir Altaï range in Central Asia.

Piolets d’Or 1995

François Marsigny (F) and Andy Parkin (UK) were distinguished for the opening of a new ice route on the Col de l’Espérance (Cerro Torre, Patagonia) and for the long days which they barely survived during the descent.

Piolets d’Or 1996
Awarded to the team of Andreas Orgler(Austria), Heli Neswadba and Arthur Wutscher (Germany) for opening up several extreme routes, notably on the South Face of Mount Bradley (Ruth Glacier, Alaska).  

Piolets d’Or 1997
A second award for Slovenia: Tomaz Humar and Vania Furlan for the opening up of a new route on the North-West face of Ama Dablan (6812m) in Nepal.  

Piolets d’Or 1998
First ascent of the West Face of Makalu (8841m) Nepal, by a Russian expedition "Ekaterinburg Town".

Piolets d’Or 1999
First ascent on the North Face of Thalay Sagar, northern India (6904m) by Athol Whimp (New Zealand) and Andrew Lindblade (Australia).

Piolets d’Or 2000
First on South-East face of Burkett Needle (3049m) Alaska, by the Frenchmen Lionel and Sébastien Foissac

Piolets d’Or 2001
First direct route on the Headwall on the Shivling (6543m) India, by the German Thomas Huber and the Swiss Iwan Wolf.

Piolets d’Or 2002
Valery Babanov (Russia) for opening up, solo, a route to the summit of Meru (6310m) India.

Piolets d’Or 2003
Mike Fowler and Paul Ramsden (United Kingdom) for opening up the North Face of Siguniang (6250m), China.

Piolets d’Or 2004
Valery Babanov and Yuri Koshelenko (Russia), for the south pillar of East Nupse (7703m), Nepal.

Piolets d’Or 2005
Expedition of eleven Russian alpinists led by Alexander Odintsov, for the first ascent of the North Face of Jannu (7710m), Nepal.

Piolets d’Or 2006

Steve House and Vince Anderson (USA), for the first ascent of the central pillar of Nangat Parbat (8125m) Pakistan, on the Rupal side.

Piolets d’Or 2007
Awarded to Slovenian Marko Prezelj and Boris Lorencic, for opening up the North-West pillar of Chomo Lhari (7326m) in Tibet.  This summit was climbed for the first time in 1937.

Piolets d’Or 2008
Ceremony cancelled.

Piolets d’Or 2009
- Kazuya Hiraide and Kei Taniguchi (Japan) for the first ascent of the South-East face of Kamet (7756m) India.  Kei Taniguchi was the first woman to be awarded this honour.
- Fumitaka Ichimura, Yusuke Sato and Kazuki Amano (Japan) for a new route on the North face of Kalanka (6931m) India.
- Ueli Steck and Simon Anthamatten (Switzerland) for the first ascent of the North face of Tengkampoche (6500m) Nepal.

Piolets d’Or 2010
- Denis Urubko and Boris Dedeshko (Kazakhstan) for a new route on southeast face of Cho Oyu (8201m, Nepal)
- Jed Brown, Kyle Dempster (USA) and Bruce Normand (Scotland) for the first ascent of the north face of Xuelian West (6422m, China)

Piolets d’Or 2011
- Yasushi Okada and Katsutaka Yokoyama (Japan) for South East face of Mount Logan (5959m, Canada)
- Sean Villanueva, Nicolas and Olivier Favressse (Belgium) and Ben Ditto (USA), skipper Bob Shepton (UK) for big walls, Greenland

Piolets d'Or 2012
- Mark Richey, Steve Swenson and Freddie Wilkinson (USA) for their ascent of Saser Kangri II (7,518m, India);
- Nejc Marcic and Luka Strazar (Slovenia) for their ascent of K7 West (6,615m, Pakistan);
- A third ascent has been given a special mention by the jury: Torre Egger, Argentina, by Bjorn-Eivind Aartun and Ole Lied (Norway)

Piolet d'or édition 2012


Chamonix Mont-Blanc Commune de Courmayeur 
Région Rhône-Alpes
VerticalGroupe de Haute Montagne
Montagnes Magazine